top of page

Alien Life entry #2: The truth about my feet.

Updated: Jul 10, 2020


When I was a teen, everytime someone asked what part of me I would change (and they ask that more times than necessary, which does not help to learn to love and accept oneself as one is) my answer used to surprise people. I would change my feet.


I was taller than average and I always had to stand in the back of the line in school. In my country, the norm of beauty was petite and skinny and I always felt like a big boy inside my own skin. I wasn't feminine in or out myself, I tried to be interested in my looks, but man doing make-up is boring. My hips were wider than usual and I was ¨chunky¨ yet that didn't bother me as much as my feet did.


Why my feet? Well, they are big, I wear a 42 ½ and it has been a journey (I mean this with humor, of course, it wasn't that much of an issue, didn't keep me up at night). See I was the only one IN MY ENTIRE FAMILY with feets that size. Not even my aunts who are as tall as me had that size. When I hit fourteen I was not longer able to share footwear with anyone in my family or friends. Now, see it from my adolescent perspective, I tried to fit in, I wanted to go to parties and discos and I struggle to find shoes that fit me that were feminine. On my day to day, I was fine with trainers, I loved them! But every time I was about to go out, I had a little anxiety attack for what I was going to wear. My dad used to joke and tell me I had to go to the drag store. Sadly, they were much too kinky for a teen.


I never had the right shoes to combine my clothes, and I can't tell you how many times I have suffered and blistered myself to fit into shoes one or two sizes too small for me. But, as all girls, I wanted to be pretty.


Now, as a grown ¨human¨woman I look at young me wasting so much time overthinking what to wear and I can't help to smile at my innocence. Now I realize my feet were a blessing. First of all, it got to a point where I could not longer waste time of my life over this matter. So I decided trainers for life would be ok, I stopped shopping for clothes that needed special wear and I don't think I weared skirts for a long time. Pants and comfortables shoes from then on. Now I feel the freedom of being able to make that decision that in my case, avoided me a tone of pain and insecurities.


But, more importantly, when I made that decision to never fit myself into anything that causes me pain, I accepted myself wholly, I healed a part of my inner child. When I was a little kid, I loved climbing. I was always so proud of myself for never falling, I could jump from trees, climb walls, hop and bounce back. I have tremendous stability and balance. My hands also are big and my body was normal, it was a mix between male and female that used torment me when I used to believe I had to pick just one. But now, now I see my big feet allow me to ground myself anywhere, I never fall, I am unmovable. My feet were made to drive me away from painful practices and distractions, my feet were made to let me run and jump and go where otherwise I wouldn't go. My feet are my roots, and like a big trees, they go deep, the absorb so much more from the energy below, they are perfect...for me.


I don´t know if my feet are human or not, I don't know why I used to think they were something bad when I can do so much with them. But I know that no matter what part of your body your dislike the most, at some point, it will make sense to you, that you chose this body and there are very good reasons why. You are perfect to be...you. Doesn't matter what the norm is, what type of bodies are considered beautiful because what you can do with your body no one else can.


I love wearing men shoes sometimes and sometimes no shoes at all. I didn't realize back then barefooted was going to be my way of living. I didn't need stilettos, or…(Gosh that is the only name of shoes I know lol) I needed myself free of pain and insecurities. My feet will sustain me for the rest of my life and for that my eternal gratitude for not conforming to was is lady like. I am a wild woman, with wild feet and I am proud of that.


My human body has more purposes than being liked or being pretty. It is home to the part of me is not for here! I love my body. What a gift it was to be born into it.


Acceptance is enlightenment. I accept my body and only matters what I think of it.


 

La verdad sobre mis pies


Cuando era adolescente, cada vez que alguien preguntaba qué parte de mí cambiaría (y lo preguntan más veces de lo necesario, lo que no ayuda a aprender a amarse y aceptarse como una es) mi respuesta solía sorprender a la gente. Me cambiaría los pies.


Soy más alta que el promedio y siempre tenía pararme detrás de la fila en la escuela. En mi país, la norma de belleza es pequeña y delgada y siempre me sentí como un niño grande dentro de mi propia piel. No era femenina ni dentro o ni fuera, intenté interesarme por mi apariencia, pero tío, maquillarse es aburrido. Mis caderas eran más anchas de lo normal y estaba ¨gruesa¨, pero eso no me molestó tanto como mis pies.


¿Por qué mis pies? Bueno, son grandes, llevo un 42 ½ y ha sido un trabajo (quiero decir esto con humor, por supuesto, no fue un gran problema, no me quito el sueño por la noche). Mira, yo era la única en toda mi familia con pies de ese tamaño. Ni siquiera mis tías que son tan altas como yo tenían ese tamaño. Cuando cumplí los catorce años ya no podía compartir calzado con nadie en mi familia o amigas. Ahora, véalo desde mi perspectiva adolescente, traté de encajar, quería ir a fiestas y discotecas y luchaba por encontrar zapatos que me quedaran femeninos. En mi día a día, estaba bien con zapatillas, ¡las amaba! Pero cada vez que estaba a punto de salir, tenía un pequeño ataque de ansiedad por lo que me iba a poner. Mi papá solía bromear y decirme que tenía que ir a la tienda drag. Lamentablemente, eran demasiado pervertidas para un adolescente.


Nunca tuve los zapatos correctos para combinar mi ropa, y no puedo decirte cuántas veces he sufrido y me he ampollado para calzarme en uno o dos tamaños demasiado pequeños para mí. Pero, como todas las chicas, quería ser bonita.


Ahora, como una mujer "humana" adulta, miro a la joven perdiendo tanto tiempo pensando demasiado en qué ponerme y no puedo evitar sonreír ante mi inocencia. Ahora me doy cuenta de que mis pies fueron una bendición. En primer lugar, llegó a un punto en el que ya no podía perder el tiempo de mi vida en este asunto. Así que decidí que los entrenadores de por vida estarían bien, dejé de comprar ropa que necesitaba combinación especial y no creo que haya usado faldas por mucho, mucho tiempo. Pantalones y zapatos cómodos a partir de entonces. Ahora siento la libertad de poder tomar esa decisión que, en mi caso, me evitó un montón dolor e inseguridad.


Pero, lo que es más importante, cuando tomé la decisión de nunca adaptarme a algo que me causara dolor, me acepté por completo, curé una parte de mi niña interior. Cuando era pequeña, me encantaba escalar. Siempre estaba tan orgullosa de mí misma por nunca caerme, podía saltar desde los árboles, escalar paredes y rebotar. Tengo una tremenda estabilidad y equilibrio. Mis manos también son grandes y mi cuerpo era una mezcla entre hombre y mujer que me atormentaba cuando creía que tenía que elegir uno solo. Pero ahora, ahora veo que mis grandes pies me permiten aterrizar en cualquier lugar, nunca me caigo, no me puedo mover. Mis pies fueron hechos para alejarme de prácticas dolorosas y distracciones, mis pies fueron hechos para dejarme correr, saltar e ir a donde de otra manera no iría. Mis pies son mis raíces, y como un gran árbol, se profundizan, absorben mucho más de la energía de abajo, son perfectos ... para mí.


No sé si mis pies son humanos o no, no sé por qué solía pensar que eran algo malo cuando puedo hacer tanto con ellos. Pero sé que no importa qué parte de tu cuerpo te desagrada, en algún momento, tendrá sentido para ti, que elegiste este cuerpo y por muy buenas razones. Es perfecto para ser ... tú. No importa cuál sea la norma, qué tipo de cuerpos se consideran hermosos porque lo que puedes hacer con tu cuerpo nadie más puede hacerlo.


Me encanta usar zapatos de hombre a veces y a veces sin zapatos. No me di cuenta de que entonces descalza iba a ser mi forma de vida. No necesitaba tacones de aguja, o ... (Dios, ese es el único nombre de zapatos que conozco jajaja) me necesitaba libre de dolor e inseguridades. Mis pies me sostendrán por el resto de mi vida y por eso mi eterna gratitud por no conformarme a ser como una dama. Soy una mujer salvaje, con pies salvajes y estoy orgullosa de ello.


Mi cuerpo humano tiene más propósitos que ser querido o ser bonito. Es el hogar de la parte de mi que no es de aquí! Me encanta mi cuerpo. Qué regalo fue nacer en él.


La aceptación es la iluminación. Acepto mi cuerpo y solo importa lo que yo pienso de él.

25 views0 comments
bottom of page