top of page

White bean and squash winter stew

Updated: Feb 27, 2019



Those that know me know that I'm not a friend of winter. Too much laundry, to much dry skin and too much indoors. But hey! the one thing I love about winter are one-pot meals! Nice, warm and steamy pots bubbling delicious foods with very little washing up after. So as I start to feel the spring coming, the layers are coming out, I must make as much of it as possible. Last year I made a puchero in June and I almost killed everyone of a heat strike. So Monday I was in the mood for a pot but not a heavy lentil or dark beans so I went with white beans as I hadn't have them in a while.

It's also the perfect time to make kids eat vegetables as they come out of school starving! They both love spoon food as the Spanish call it and with homemade bread to dip is so much better!




Basically just chop everything and cook, but what I like is to add a little bit of unsweetened soy milk to make it creamier and cook the squash, potato and beans alone for a while so the broth becomes starchy and heavier. Other than that, there is not much more. I used whole wheat pasta because the little one always have to have either pasta, rice, quinoa or some sort of grain in there.

I give you an idea of seasoning but really as much as you want.

I leave you the recipe. Let me know in the comments how it came out for you!


Ingredients

1/2 butternut squash, diced

2 potatoes, diced

1 jar of white beans (save the water)

1 can peas or frozen peas

1 onion, finely chopped

2 garlic cloves, finely chopped

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 cups of water

1 tablespoons paprika

1 tablespoon dry garlic

1 tablespoon dry onion

2 tablespoon nutritional yeast

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1 tablespoon dry oregano or thyme

Salt and pepper to taste

1 teaspoon sugar

4 teaspoons unsweetened soy milk or similar

1 bay leaf

1 cup whole pasta

1/2 cup broccoli in small pieces


Instructions

-In a big pot, heat up the olive oil and fry the onion and garlic

-Add the water and milk and cook the potatoes and squash until soften.

-Add the white beans and all the spices.

-Let it cook for a while until it thickens, add more water if necessary.

-Add pasta and cook as package indicates. Three minutes before the pasta is done, add the broccoli.

-Serve it with some more nutritional yeast on top!



53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page